How to remove WordPress update notice

When there is a new WordPress version available, your system will always be kind enough to let you know that its core files are ready for update.

If you’re an administrator or a user with those privileges, a notice will be shown on top of your admin panel which will briefly inform you about the new update and a link which will lead you to the update. All other users will receive a similar message telling them they should inform their admin about new WP version. Simple as that.

WordPress Update notice

While we strongly suggest that you always keep your WordPress up to date, sometimes this isn’t possible. The message about the update won’t bother you as an admin who knows why the update might not be necessary, but if you’re leaving the site in your client’s hands, this might be potentially dangerous and cause you some extra unnecessary work.

In those cases, you can easily remove the update nag by inserting a code into your theme:

  1. Open functions.php file
  2. Copy and paste the following code:
  3. function hide_update_notice() {
    remove_action( 'admin_notices', 'update_nag', 3 );
    }
    
    add_action( 'admin_notices', 'hide_update_notice', 1 );
  4. Save changes

This function will remove the message from all users, but you can easily modify the code to hide the update message from everyone but the admins:

function hide_update_notice() {
get_currentuserinfo();
if (!current_user_can('manage_options')) {
remove_action( 'admin_notices', 'update_nag', 3 );
}
}

add_action( 'admin_notices', 'hide_update_notice', 1 );

If that isn’t enough for you, you can modify the code even further and allow only a certain user to see the message. All you need is to take the username (we already know it’s going to be your name) and check for it with the code. In that case, update the above function and change the IF statement on the third line with the new one:

if ($user_login != "username") {

That’s it. Now you can quickly disable the update nag from your dashboard and control which users can and cannot see the message. If you find yourself missing the message and want to bring the notice back, you can remove the function from functions.php file.

START YOUR OWN BLOG

This guide is an introduction to mastering the art of blogging. It provides easy to follow steps to start, maintain, and grow your blog.

Read the guide

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *